History of SevensRules of SevensRugby TournamentsIRB sevensSevens ticketsCorporate HospitalityRugby Tours

The Borders Sevens Circuit

Officially it's the oldest tournament, the Borders Sevens Circuit includes the Melrose sevens which was the first ever rugby sevens tournament in history, the Borders Sevens Circuit is one of the most prestigious sevens series' around.

Based in the rugby mad area of Scotland known as the 'Borders', officially the birth place of sevens rugby, this series takes place between August and May every year, comprising of ten sevens tournaments, all of whom are based in the Scottish borders.

The ten tournaments are:-

Selkirk sevens

The Selkirk sevens tournament takes place in August and is a tournament with a long and proud history, first appearing in 1919. The club itself has a similarly proud history, having produced no less than 12 Scottish Internationals. It is also the current holder of the King of the Sevens title, having one the series in both 2007 and 2008

Kelso Sevens

Also taking place in August is the Kelso sevens tournament, played out of Poynder Park. Another club with a fine rugby history having produced 16 Scottish internationals to date.

Gala Sevens

This sevens tournament takes place in April and is the 'home fixture' of one of the best and most historic sevens clubs in the world, being beaten finalists in the original Melrose sevens tournament.

Melrose Sevens

The oldest sevens tournament in the world also takes place in April. Having started sevens in 1883, Melrose was considered the 'founder' of the sport of rugby sevens.

Hawick Sevens

One of the proudest, and most successful sides in Scottish club rugby, Hawick RFC hold their sevens tournament every April.

Berwick Sevens

Despite being based in England, this is a Scottish club. Being situated on the borders a quirk of fate when it was 'homeless' saw this side relocate to just inside the English side of the border. But it is still a proud Scottish side, competing in the Scottish leagues and holding its sevens tournament every April.

Peebles Sevens

Also takes place in April from their home called 'the Gytes'.

Langholm Sevens

Based out of Miltown this sevens tournament takes place every May

Earlston Sevens

One of the oldest clubs in Scotland Earlston also host their leg of the King of the Sevens tournament every May.

Jed-Forest Sevens

Rounding off the king of the sevens competition is the Jed-Forest sevens tournament, held in May. They last won the overall title in 2006.



Related information :
World Cup Sevens
IRB Sevens
Melrose Sevens
Middlesex Sevens
Bournemouth Sevens
Borders Sevens Circuit